Where They Live – Pablo

He looks like a gangster and I have told him so, but he’s really a nice guy. I’ve known Pablo for over two years.

He stands on a bad leg all night as a guide/security guard/coordinator for all things and nothing in particular. He sort of made a position for himself in front of the American Theater and Casa de la Musica in Havana. He barely survives on the tips from tourists for tours of the theater, for hailing them a taxi or a bici, or for information.

I finally took him up on his desire to show the world where he has to live.

Because of his bad leg Pablo needs help with the two flights of stairs to be able to get to his work. He asked the government years ago for a ground floor apartment, but he’s repeatedly told that he has to wait.

I climbed the stairs to an open area in the middle of the building.

Pablo came out to greet me.

Living room

Bedroom

A television that no longer works.

Kitchen area with gas stove.

Bathroom and shower.

There is a loft with another mattress, but the floor was so weak that I did not go up.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Where They Live – Pablo”

  1. Dear Mark, this is soooo sad. Prayers help, but I know you do too. We are so fortunate. I do hope that he gets some help and a decent place without steps.

Leave a comment