A Pig For Me

 

“You’re coming to visit? Good, we’re going to get you a pig.”

My first thought – I don’t need any pets.

No, my Cuban family is going to slaughter it and roast it for me.

It’s a huge party. Everyone enjoys it. What’s not to like – friends and neighbors, food, drink, cigars, treats, and of course music. Constant music.

The Roast is started early. It’s hot and smokey and must be constantly turned.

 

The women peeled and boiled some yucca, a root vegetable high in starch, but little flavor.

 

Puti  made her delicious congri over a charcoal fire. It’s always delicious.

Saute the garlic and onion.

Add rice …..

…and the cooked beans…..

…mix well…

…and simmer.

 

Aymara made a fresh salad with cabbage, tomatoes, and cucumbers with vinegar and oil dressing.

I brought something to drink.

 

Of course everyone poses with dinner.

Then, expert hands made quick work of removing the meat.

Everyone had plenty to eat.

 

While the women cleaned up ….

…the men sat on the porch with coffee, cigars and rum.

The remnants.

My Cuban family has done this for me several times. It’s a treat for me and for them.

Nothing says love like sharing a freshly roasted pig.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Pig For Me”

  1. Next time I will send money to have a big feast. Thank you! These are good, hardworking people.

    Rob

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Mark, the next to last picture is a nice summary of the celebration Pig Roast, glad to see you can accept being the honored guest..Salud!!!

  3. Mark, So very, very, happy to see your post (fun to read) and hopeful you are in Cuba now and not writing from Nevada. Though it is always good to hear from you!! Let me know if you are in Cuba now..it has been a long time coming for you. If you are in Cuba enjoy your friends and time there.

Leave a comment