Meet Roberto

It started with a cigar. Actually two cigars. I was smoking and so was he.  I yelled “tobacco” and gave him a  thumbs up. He smiled and waved us over.

“I like tobacco” he said.

We were walking where tourists never go and I think Roberto was happy to have some strangers to talk with. After telling us that he was 84 years old, he proceeded to do some deep knee bends to show us that he was in good shape.

Roberto struck this pose on one of his squats. Then we all laughed.

 

He wanted to show us this newspaper article from the late 1950’s. He was in Miami working at a hotel when a reporter came to interview some of the staff. He got his name in print and saved the article for all these years.

Of course there were photographs too.

Roberto was also proud to show us this certificate he received for completing a hunting safety course.

That’s how it goes in Havana. You never know what interesting people you’re going to meet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Meet Roberto”

  1. I love this – conversations with strangers, and I bet that little chat really made Roberto’s day too – sharing his proud memories.

    I know 20-something year olds that can barely manage one squat, so ‘go Roberto’. 🏋🏼‍♂️🤗

  2. Good to hear from you !!! Thanks for sharing. Excellent way to spend part of a day.. cigars, meeting “a new friend” and great conversation!! : )

Leave a comment