Mi Habitacion

I stayed with friends on this trip to Havana, Barbara and Noel. They operate “Casa Barbara” at 460  E. San Rafael. I had a nice room with a private bath, my own set of keys to come and go as I pleased, and a balcony overlooking the street.

Their home is about eight blocks west of the Capitolio. Not a good neighborhood I was told, but that was back in 2013 and our tour guide didn’t seem to want us to explore outside the restaurant where we were scheduled to eat.

Deciding we were not hungry, Pam D. and I excused ourselves and went for a walk. We met Barbara in front of her home, exchanged greetings, and were invited in for coffee.

I’ve been able to keep in contact through e-mail and booked my stay in their family’s home. I had a wonderful experience and didn’t miss the fancy hotel at all.

_MG_0552 copy

 

_MG_9516_17_18_19_20_tonemapped copy

My Room

_MG_9526_7_8_9_tonemapped copy

Kitchen and dining area.

_MG_0444_5_6_fused copy

San Rafael Street. It’s one way – East

_MG_0459 copy

A fine Palaldar just a few doors down.

_MG_0014 copy

I took good advantage of this view from my balcony.

3 thoughts on “Mi Habitacion”

  1. Charming,Looks neat and tidy,Donald Duck near by. Much better then cigar smelling carpet and huge drapes to hide the sun.

Leave a Reply

