Acadia in Winter

_84A4169  B+W  2 copy
Acadia National Park in Bar Harbor, Maine is a favorite place of mine. I’ve hiked every trail and every mountain. I usually go in Spring and Autumn. This was my first trip in the winter. It was challenging to get around. There were not many places to park. Snowshoes did provide some access to less traveled areas, but I found myself wishing I had brought my cross-country skis. The park loop road was very ski friendly with lots of packed snow at least two feet deep. Below zero temperatures and wind were another obstacle.
All said and done, I got a few images that I like and enjoyed the company of two great friends. I’m glad I went.

 

Untitled_Panorama  _MG_0252_4 copy

_MG_0403_4_5_fused copy

_MG_0358  B copy

_MG_0094_5_6_fused copy

_MG_0141_2_2a_3_fused copy

 

4 thoughts on “Acadia in Winter”

  1. Mark, I just enjoy your images over and over and over. That lead image with the shadows speaks to me the most in this set, but it’s a wonderful collection. Rock star status shooting in the cold temps!

  2. Acadia is such a huge contrast from Cuba. The motion in the water(or not) and the tightness in the ice and snow really make Cubas Pastels and weathered walls seem soft and welcoming. Keep adventuring.

Leave a Reply

