“Cinco”

I paused in my walk up a side street in Trinidad and said hello to a mother sitting on her steps. In the street were five young children playing with a deflated soccer ball. I had some gifts in my camera bag so (trying to be funny) I made exaggerated gestures counting the children … uno, dos, tres, cuatro, cinco. I sat down beside the mother and kept repeating “cinco” as I pulled out pens and gum and key-chain flashlights. Of course, before I knew it there were children everywhere …. 10, 12, 15, I lost count. The mother and I laughed as I kept repeating “cinco ?” She did a good job keeping the children in order. They immediately responded to her directions. After exhausting my stash, I thanked the mother and headed for the hotel.
Later that evening, well after dark, I was sitting in the park enjoying a concert and a cigar. Someone walked by, shined a light on me and said “cinco, cinco”. It was the mother. She and I were both laughing as she passed into the night.

 

 

_MG_2341 copy

_MG_2376 copy

_MG_2358a_b_c_fused copy

_MG_2333a_b_c_fused copy

_MG_2306 copy

_MG_2330a_b_c_d_e_fused copy

_MG_2317a_b_c_fused copy

2 thoughts on ““Cinco””

Leave a Reply

