Watching

They watch from the streets, from corners, from steps, or they peer out of windows.

They sit, they stand, they pass the time of day, and they watch.

It may be because they want to escape their dark and dank living quarters. It may be because they have no job to got to. It may be because they have nothing else to do.

I believe it’s because Cubans are friendly and sociable people.
They like to smile and laugh. They like music and dance and they are ready to interact with fellow human beings.
It’s a pleasure to get to know them. I can walk a busy street in Havana, look everyone I pass in the eye, smile, and say hello. I get smiles and hellos right back. Try that in your average U.S. city of two million people, if you dare.

In the U.S., I might choose to give a posse of tough guys a wide berth, but I’ve not yet felt threatened while wading into a crowd or passing by a line-up of Cubans.

I might be naïve and I know I’m easily recognized as a tourist but I think I can judge character and for the most part, Cubans seem genuinely friendly. I get a good vibes.

_MG_9611 copy

_MG_9562 copy

_MG_8735 copy

_MG_2043a_b_c_fused copy

_MG_8227 copy

_MG_9597a_b_c_d_fusedAnd1more_fused copy

_MG_0640a_b_c_d_fused copy

_MG_9263 copy

_MG_1206 copy

Leave a Reply

